The Louisiana Department of Public Safety, Office of Motor Vehicles, issues identification cards. To have a Louisiana Identification Card issued, you will be required to furnish the following to your local Office of Motor Vehicles:
- One primary and two secondary identification documents. (See Section 1, Policy 6.00 for a complete list of acceptable identification documents.)
- Minor 17 or under must be accompanied by parent or legal guardian with picture I.D. In case of joint custody, only domiciliary parent may sign.
- Fee: $21.00 (This fee is an estimate as an additional parish fee may exist in some offices which will not to exceed $3) CASH or Money Order. If age 60 or older - NO CHARGE
EXCEPTION: In order to comply with the Military Selective Service Act (Act 373 of 2003 Regular Legislative Session - R.S. 32:40:1321(D)(1)), proof of social security is required by all male US citizens or permanent resident aliens age 15 to 26 who apply for license or ID card. Failure to provide proof of social security number will result in a denial of issuance.
NOTE: Identification cards may be issued for any age.
You can renew a Louisiana Identification Card online at: https://expresslane.dps.louisiana.gov/DLRenewal/id1.aspx
If you have any questions, please call the OMV help line at 1-225-925-6146 or visit the office nearest you.