Louisiana.gov logo

The Louisiana.gov Services Directory is a consolidated and comprehensive online directory of services provided by state government to citizens and businesses. Services include licenses and permits, certifications, registrations, filings, publications, e-mail offerings, databases, and information resources. Questions? Ask Louise

Information current as of May 22, 2013.
Storage Facility License

Public Safety & Corrections, Louisiana State Police

The Louisiana State Police, Towing and Recovery Unit, regulates licensing of official Storage Facilities. Below are general requirements that MUST be met to become an Official Storage Facility

A. Towing and Storage facility must be open for business and properly staffed Monday thru Friday between the hours of 8:00 am to 5:00 pm. Storage Only facility must be open a minimum of 5days and must be properly staffed during the hours of operation the facility has designated to the Department.

B. The facility must have the minimum required insurance: Garage keepers' legal liability insurance in an amount not less than $50,000 and Garage liability insurance in an amount of not less than $50,000.
C. Storage facilities shall provide for the security and safety of vehicles stored in accordance with LAC Title 55, Chapter 19. Storage areas shall have security barriers or safety apparatus suitable to insure the security of the property contained therein. Outside storage areas shall be enclosed by at least a 6 foot high chain link fence, or fence of similar strength or solid wall sufficient to protect against loss, trespass or vandalism.

D. Storage facilities shall have a clearly visible sign maintained at all times at the business office and at the entrance to any outside storage area, stating the name of the business, telephone number and hours of operation. An after hour telephone number shall be included on the sign advising the public how to make contact for the release of vehicles, contents or personal property prior to any company charging a gate fee.

E. The facility must have billing invoices showing consecutive numbering and completion of all required
information. The storage records must be kept on site at the facility and be available for inspection for three years.

F. The facility, their employees or agents, must not have any conviction of a felony relating to auto theft, vehicle insurance fraud, burglary of a vehicle, and/or possession of stolen vehicles or vehicle parts. The applicant and their employees that operate tow trucks can’t be registered as a sex offender or child predator.

G. DEFINITION: Storage Facilityany business or company that receives direct or indirect compensation for
storing vehicles in Louisiana.

You may also go on the internet to http://www.doa.louisiana.gov/osr/lac/55v01/55v1-17.doc to view the complete rules and regulations regarding the Towing and Official Storage Facility program, Title 55, Chapter 19.

You must meet the above minimum requirements to be eligible to apply for a storage license.
Before you can apply to be licensed as an Official Storage Facility, you will need to send a letter of request on
your business letter head to the Towing and Recovery Unit office with the following information:

  • Name and physical address of company
  • Phone number
  • Contact person
  • How long the company has been in business at their present location.
  • What type of business: Tow service, mechanic shop, body shop, car dealer, etc.
  • What type of vehicles will be stored: Cars, light duty trucks, commercial, school buses, motorcycles, etc?
  • Have you ever been issued a Storage Facility License by this department? When? Under what name?
  • A Certificate of Liability page must be attached with your letter of request, which list minimum insurance requirements listed above.

When the office receives your request (via mail or fax), they will send a Trooper out to your location to conduct a PREINSPECTION of your facility. If your facility meets all requirements, you will receive an application to complete in order to become an Official Storage Facility.

For additional information please contact the Towing and Recover Unit of the Louisiana State Police directly using the information provided below.


Contact Information
Towing & Recovery Officer
( 225 ) 925 - 6113
towingandrecovery@dps.la.gov
Locations
Towing & Recovery Unit
Physical Address
7919 Independence Blvd
Baton Rouge, LA 70806
Mailing Address
P. O. Box 66614
Mail Slip A-26
Baton Rouge, LA 70806
Primary Phone Number: ( 225 ) 925 - 6113
Fax Number: ( 225 ) 922 - 3120
Hours
Monday - Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Saturday - Sunday: Closed