WHEREAS, it is necessary for the Occupational Licensing Review Commission (OLRC) to

issue a resolution regarding the approval or denial of specific occupational regulations submitted
for its review:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING
REVIEW COMMISSION, that the following occupational regulations, as defined by Louisiana
Revised Statutes 37:43(7), shall be known to have been approved by the OLRC at a duly called
meeting of its members on February 12, 2019. The OLRC finds that these occupational
regulations comply with the state policy set forth in Louisiana Revised Statutes 37:44 and
authorizes the respective occupational licensing boards to initiate promulgation of the regulations
in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act.

* Rules of the Louisiana State Board of Architectural Examiners
o LAC 46:1.1101. Registration Information
o [Increases the fee of an initial license of an in-state applicant by $15 (from $75
to $90) effective November 1, 2019.
o LAC 46:1.1105. Licenses
e Clarifies that the board issues licenses and not certificates to individual
architects. The rule will also establish a fee of $30 for a replacement license.
o LAC 46:1.1301. Renewal Procedure
® Increases the fee for a renewal license for an in-state architect by $15 (from
$75 10 $90). Increases the license renewal fee for an out-of-state architect by
$25 (from $150 to $175). Increases the delinquent fee for an in-state architect
by $5 (from $105 to $110) and for an out-of-state architect by $20 (from $180
10 $200).

* Rules of the Louisiana State Board of Cosmetology
o LAC 46:XXXI.309. Examination of Applicants
o Section E. Examination
= Removes the requirement for applicants to bring a mannequin "with
the head styled for comb out™ to the examination.
o LAC 46:XXXI[.310. Requirements for High School Cosmetology Courses
e  Section A. Curriculum
= Establishes a cosmetology theory course in high schools
» Section B. Registration
= Provides that high schools may register students who are enrolled
within the school system, at least 16 years old, and have completed the
10th grade.
¢ Section C. Faculty
* Requires each faculty member who teaches cosmetology theory to
have an active Louisiana Cosmetology Instructor License. Requires at
least one active Louisiana Cosmetology Instructor to be available for
substitution if the regular instructor is unavailable.
¢ Section D, Classrooms
» Requires the school to submit a detailed floor plan of the proposed
classroom, drawn to scale to the board for approval.
»  Requires the classroom to be at least 400 square feet, have the
equipment necessary for demonstration, and have adequate ventilation.
= Establishes a student to teacher ratio of 20 to 1.
* Prohibits a clinic from being operated in a high school and prohibits
the performance of services for the public or on paying clients at a
high school.
LAC 46:XXXI1.311. Reporting School Hours
e Section A. Registration
®  Reduces the time for schools to register students from 60 to 45 days
from the date that class begins. Reduces the maximum number of



hours that will be accepted at the time of registration to those hours
earned within 45 days (decreased from 60 days) before registration.

s Creates a rule that any registration received by the board afier 45 days
is considered late and establishes a fee schedule for those late
registrations.

= Allows the board’s staff to register the student and credit his/her hours
earned upon payment of the late registration fine and provided the
school waives its right to a hearing by the board.

s Section B. Hours

= Provides that schools may correct hours submitted to the board within
60 days without any fine.

= Allows schools to correct hours submitted to the board after 60 days
upon payment of a fine of $50 per month for each student record
corrected and provided the school waives its right to a hearing by the
board.

s Section C. Attendance

s Changes the requirement that the school owner must certify the
student’s attendance hours by permitting a representative designated
by the school owner to certify the hours.

o LAC 46:XXX1.315. Responsibilities of Schools
¢ Section A. Enrollment

» Creates a new rule requiring schools to verify all student registration
documents within 30 days of the student beginning class.

» Provides that if a school is not in possession of all required registration
documents then the student cannot attend class for course credit or be
charged student fees for attending class.

® Section E. Faculty

= Clarifies that no school shall employ an instructor who has an expired
and/or inactive instructor’s license to teach classes.

= Removes the requirement for a senior instructor to supervise all other
faculty members.

s Section G. School Closing

= Requires any school owner intending to close a school to notify the
board in writing as soon as possible. Requires the school 1o provide
electronic copies of documents relative to the closing to the board
office.

e Section J. Registrations

*  Allows student registrations to be kept in a binder in a place accessible

to students during regular school hours.
e Section L. Library

= Repeals section L to remove the requirement for cosmetology schools
to maintain a library.

¢ Section P. Clinic Floor

= Clarifies that the minimum requirements for students to perform
services on the clinic floor are a student registration and completion of
100 hours in the curriculum. Dictates that students are only allowed to
perform services within the curriculum in which they are registered.

s Section Q. Uniform Policy

= Requires schools to adopt and implement a uniform policy consistent
with §321 by July 1, 2019.

¢ Section R. Changes

®  Requires schools to request written board approval of any change in
the curriculum, class schedule, or hours of school operation which
impacts students prior to implementing the change unless the change is
due to an emergency. Schools are required to notify the board of any
emergency changes as soon as possible.

o LAC 46:XXX1.317. Equipment Required in Cosmetology Schools
¢ Section A. Equipment

® Decreases the required number of hair dryers from 6 10 3.

= Removes the requirement for sufficient trays and supplies,
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Replaces the requirement of wet and dry sanitizer for each occupied
station with a requirement of a single sanitizing station with an
adequate supply of wet sanitizer,

Clarifies that the required 6 extra mannequins are for teaching
purposes.

Clarifies that the required 20 working stations must have space for
working and supplies.

e Section B. Classroom

Makes the rule consistent with La. R.S. 37:595(A) requiring
cosmetology schools to have a minimum of 3,500 square feet and for
classrooms to have a minimum of 400 square feet,

Removes the requirement that classrooms have a “modern™ anatomy
chart.

Permits the use of a dry erase or electronic board for teaching and
removes the minimum size for marker or chalk boards.

LAC 46:XXXI1.321. Responsibilities of Students
e Section C. Uniforms

Makes the school uniform requirements applicable to mate students.
Removes the requirement for hose as an option.
Removes the list of prohibited clothing,

e Section D.

Proposed rule requires that students adhere to the school’s uniform
policy.

s Section E. Hours

Clarifies that student hours only become invalid if the student does not
complete the curriculum.

Provides that earned hours do not expired if the student completes the
curriculum,

LAC 46:XXXI1.501. Booth Renters
¢ Section A. Agreement

Clarifies that an individual performing cosmetology services in a salon
who is not paid by commission, an hourly rate, or a salary must obtain
a booth renter’s permit.

Provides that a booth renter’s permit will be issued after an inspection
of the booth prior to services being performed in the booth.

Provides that booth renter’s permits are non-transferable.

LAC 46:XXX1.505. Cosmetology Instructors
e Section A. Instructors

Removes “Gold Stamp™ licensing and clarifies that an active
cosmetology instructor’s license is required to teach a cosmetology.
manicuring, esthetics, or any other course required for licensure.

e Section B. Master Instructors

Clarifies that to become a master instructor, an instructor must have a
minimum of five consecutive years of teaching experience and have
completed 16 hours of continuing education for five consecutive years.

e Section C. Reinstatements

Provides that an expired or inactive instructor’s license may be
reinstated or renewed only if the applicant has completed the required
continuing education hours within the 24 months prior to the
application for renewal or reinstatement,

e Section D. Continuing Education

Provides that licensed instructors must obtain 16 hours of continuing
education every two years to maintain active status.

LAC 46:XXXI1.707. Equipment Required in Salons Offering Esthetics Services
¢ Section A. Equipment

Technical amendment changing the word “therapist™ to “operator.”

LAC 46:XXX1.709. Equipment Required in Salons Offering Manicuring Services
e Section A. Manicuring Equipment

Adds *a water basin or pedicure chair” 1o the list of required
equipment for manicuring salons offering pedicures.

LAC 46:XXXI.710. Equipment Required in Threading Facilities



e Section A. Threading Equipment
= Establishes a list of required equipment for threading facilities.
o LAC 46:XXXIL.711. Procedures for Esthetics Services
o Section B. Procedures
* Technical amendment corrects the misspelling of the word
“antimicrobial.”
o LAC 46:XXXI1.715. Disposable Equipment
e Adds razors to the list of equipment which is disposable,
o LAC 46:XXXI1.1707. Remodeling
»  Section A. Application
= Replaces the word “application™ with “notice of intent” for any school,
salon, or mobile station seeking to remodel.
e Section B. Temporary Permits
= Changes the requirement that an inspection and approval of temporary
premises during remodeling be performed by a “board member
inspector” to “an inspector.”
o LAC 46:XXXI1.1709. Picture Identification
¢ Clarifies the type of picture identification licensees or permittees must have in
their possession when performing services includes a valid driver's license, a
valid identification card issued pursuant to La. R.S. 40:1321, or other
generally recognized identification card that includes the name and picture of
the licensee or permittee.
o LAC46:XXXL1711. NSF Checks
e Clarifies that if a check is returned by the bank for non-sufficient funds, the
payment date will be the date of receipt of valid payment and any applicable
late fee will apply.
e Clarifies that any license issued prior to the board receiving notice from the
bank of non-sufficient funds will be subject to revocation.

* Rules of the Lounisiana Board of Professional Geoscientists
o LAC 46:LXI1.1501. Seals
¢ Provides a non-exclusive list of the types of documents included in the
definition of "geoscience document” and delineates how professional
geoscientists should affix their stamps to geoscience documents.

» Rules of the Louisiana Licensed Professional Counselors Board of Examiners
o LAC 46:1.X.3103. Definitions for Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists and
Provisional Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists
¢ Clarifies the definition of “active supervision.”
LAC 46:LX.3309. Academic Requirements for MFT Licensure or Provisional

Licensure
¢ Technical amendment to clarify the academic requirements set forth in La.
R.S.37:1116.

o LAC 46:LX.3315. Application, Practice, and Renewal Requirements for Provisional
Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists
¢ Section C. PLMFT Supervision Requirements for Licensure

s (Clarifies that supervision experience hours for PLPC and PLMFT may
be accrued concurrently afier receiving approval from the board.

=  Provides that the advisory committee has the discretion to approve the
transfer of direct and indirect hours and supervision from out of state.

*  Changes the requirement of the 100 hours of face-to-face supervisor
contact from “only 50 hours may" 1o 50 hours must™ be counted as
individual supervision.

«  Provides that concurrent accrual of hours may not begin until both
provisional licenses have been approved if approval was not obtained
on the same date. Prohibits retroactive supervision experience hours.

o LAC 46:LX.3316. Active, Inactive, Lapse, Retirement Status
e Enacts and provides for definitions of active status, inactive status, lapse
status, and retirement status.
® Active Status



Defines active status as one that is current and allows the LMFT and
PLMFT to practice marriage and family therapy.

Inactive Status

Defines inactive status as one which allows a licensee to pause his‘her
license for a period of up to one year during which the LMFT or
PLMFT may not practice mental health counseling,

Prohibits a licensee from requesting inactive status if his/her license
has already lapsed or to avoid disciplinary action.

Provides that a licensee may be eligible for “inactive status™ if one ot
more of four conditions are met and the licensee provides
documentation.

Lapsed Status

Defines a lapsed license as one which the licensee did not request
inactive status or retired status by the date of license expiration.
Lapsed Status is automatic and assigned due to inaction by the
licensee.

Prohibits a licensee from providing mental health counseling while in
lapsed status.

Provides that a LMFT or PLMFT must follow procedures for
reinstatement in order to renew his/her license and will incur a late fee
in addition to the renewal fee.

Provides that a lapsed license may be renewed within 90 days afier the
date of licensure lapse upon the payment of all fees and evidence of
completion of continuing education hours.

Requires a LMFT or PLMFT to apply for licensure afler 90 days.

Retired Status

Defines retired status as one for those retired from the profession.
Prohibits a licensee from providing mental health counseling while in
retired status.

Provides that a LMFT cannot apply for retired status if his'her license
is already expired.

Provides that a retired LMFT must reapply under current licensure
requirements if he/she wants to reenact his/her license.

o LAC 46:LX.3317.Qualifications of the LMFT-Approved Supervisor, LMFT-
Registered Supervisor Candidate, and Registered Supervisor Candidate

Section 1. Requirements for Registration as a Registered Supervisor
Candidate

Removes the requirement that the 90 hours of supervision be
completed in no more than 3 years.

o LAC 46:LX.3319. Responsibilities of the Provisional Licensed Marriage and Family

Therapist
Section C. Revocation, Suspension, or Limitation of the Terms of the
Provisional Licensure of the PLMFT

Requires a board-approved supervisor to attend a LMFT board-
approved supervisor’s orientation within one year of the supervisor’s
date of certification.

Allows the board-approved supervisor to count the orientation as
continuing education for license renewal as a marriage and family
therapist,

o LAC 46:LX.3701. Endorsement

Provides for requirements for Louisiana licensure endorsement of a person
licensed as a marriage and family therapist in another jurisdiction.

Decreases the amount of time the applicant must have practiced marriage and
family therapy from five years to “at least one licensure renewal cycie.”
Requires the applicant to submit documentation of CEHs within two years of
the date of application for licensure endorsement in Louisiana.

Allows for the issuance of a license to a person licensed as a LMFT for at
least two years in another jurisdiction whose requirements for licensure are
substantially equivalent to or exceed those of the state of Louisiana.



* Rules of the Louisiana Physical Therapy Board
LAC 46:LIV.120. Rule Promulgation, Amendment, and Appeal Procedures
e Provides for procedures for the adoption of rules and advisory opinions to
comply with the mandate of La. R.S. 49:953(C).
LAC 46:LIV.121. Declaratory Orders and Advisory Opinions
¢ Provides for procedures for declaratory orders and advisory opinions to
comply with the mandate of La. R.S. 49:953(C).
LAC 46:LIV.123. Definitions
¢ Changes the definitions of “continuous supervision™ and “HIPDB™.
LAC 46:L1V.337. Clinical Instruction of Student PTs and PTAs
¢ Provides that a PT student shall receive on-premises supervision by a clinical
instructor while a PTA student must receive continuous supervision by a
clinical instructor.
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This Resolution was ADOPTED by unanimous vote of the Commission on February 12, 2019.
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Prin Monroe Wesley. Chair




