WHEREAS, it is necessary for the Occupational Licensing Review Commission (OLRC) to
issue a resolution regarding the approval or denial of specific occupational regulations submitted
for its review:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING
REVIEW COMMISSION, that the following occupational regulations, as defined by Louisiana
Revised Statutes 37:43(7), shall be known to have been approved by the OLRC at a duly called
meeting of its members on March 14, 2019. The OLRC finds that these occupational regulations
comply with the state policy set forth in Louisiana Revised Statutes 37:44 and authorizes the
respective occupational licensing boards to initiate promulgation of the regulations in accordance
with the Administrative Procedure Act.

¢ Rules of the Louisiana Physical Therapy Board
o LAC 46:LIV.123. Definitions
e Changes the definitions of “continuous supervision” and “HIPDB”.
o LACA46:LIV.311. Treatment with Dry Needling
e Changes the requirements for a physical therapist to provide documentation of
completion of a course of study of dry needling.
o LAC46:LIV.501. Fees
o Creates two new fees. The first is a “mailing list” fee to be charged when a course
provider requests the addresses of licensees. The second is a “‘compact state fee”
which would allow the board to change a fee for compact privileges.

¢ Rules of the Louisiana State Board of Nursing
o LAC46:XLVIIL.3341. Fees for Registration and Licensure
e Establishes a new fee — the application conversion fee — to support the
implementation of the new Nurse Licensure Compact. The fee will allow an
applicant to convert his/her single state license to a multistate license. It is a one-
time $50 fee.
o LAC 46:XLVIL3324. Permission to Enroll or Progress in Undergraduate Clinical
Nursing Courses
» Changes the existing rule which required the board to automatically deny the
entry into or progression in nursing school of any potential or current nursing
student who falsified his/her application or failed to disclose information that
should have been reported to the board. Under the changes, the board would have
the discretion in rendering a decision.
e Changes the length of the penalty of not being able to reapply to nursing school
from a “minimum of five years” to “up to five years.”
o LAC 46:XLVIL4507. Licensure as Advanced Practice Registered Nurse
e Clarifies that the 300 hours of practice as an APRN must be completed annually
and not within 12 months.
o LAC 46:X1.VIL4513. Authorized Practice
o Establishes a one-time three hours of continuing education on controlled
substance prescribing practices as delineated in LACXLVII: 4516. Such board
approved continuing education shall include instruction relating to drug diversion
training, best practices regarding prescribing of controlled substances, and
appropriate treatment for addiction.
o LAC 46:XLVIL4516. Continuing Education Requirement for APRNs Prescribing
Controlled Substances
¢ New rule establishing the continuing education requirement for APRNs who
prescribe controlled substances.

e Rules of the Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners
o LAC 46:XLV.7705. Definitions

¢ Clarifies the definition of a bona-fide physician-patient relationship.
® Adds a definition of “Consult or Consultation.”



o LAC 46:XLV.7705. Definitions (continued)

e Adds glaucoma, Parkinson’s disease, severe muscle spasms, intractable pain,
post-traumatic stress disorder, and conditions associated with autism spectrum
disorder to the list of qualifying medical conditions for medical marijuana
recommendation in accordance with Louisiana law governing the therapeutic use
of marijuana.

® Adds a definition of intractable pain.

¢ Adds a definition of pediatric specialist.

o LAC 46:XLV.7707. Prohibitions

e Removes the limit of 100 patients per physician.

o Clarifies that the prohibition against ownership or investment interest in a
therapeutic marijuana pharmacy or producer only applies to physicians who are
registered to recommend therapeutic marijuana.

o LAC 46:XLV.7709. Exceptions

¢ Removes section B which provided for an exception to the limit of 100 patients
per physician.

o LAC46:XLV.7717. Use of Marijuana for Therapeutic Purposes, Limitations

¢ Removes the requirement that the physician re-examine the patient at intervals not
to exceed 90 days and instead leaves the frequency of follow up examinations to
the judgment of the treating physician.

o Clarifies that physicians recommending therapeutic marijuana must comply with
the board’s rules on the treatment of chronic or intractable pain if utilized as
treatment of non-cancer related intractable pain.

o LAC46:XLV.7721. Form of Written Request or Recommendation
e Clarifies that a recommendation of therapeutic marijuana to a therapeutic
marijuana pharmacy may be made by facsimile or in another electronic manner.
o LAC 46:XLV7729. Appendix — Form for Recommendation for Therapeutic
Marijuana
* Amends the form to add the new qualifying medical conditions.
o LAC 46:XLV.405. Short Term Residency Permit; Fellowship Training Permit

* Provides for a new permit that would accommodate unaccredited fellowship
training at the discretion of the board. Also provides for procedures, restrictions,
term, renewal, and revocation.

o LAC 46:XLV.411. Graduate Education Temporary Permit/Short-Term IMG Training

Permit; Fellowship Training Permit

¢ Provides for a new permit that would accommodate unaccredited fellowship
training at the discretion of the board. Also provides for procedures, restrictions,
term, renewal, and revocation.

This Resolution was ADOPTED by unanimous vote of the Commission on March 14, 2019, .
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Erfn Monrbe Wesley, Chair



