Title 25
CULTURAL RESOURCES

Part IIl. Office of State Museums

Chapter 1.Public Access

§101. Definitions

A. As used in this Part, unless the content clearly
provides otherwise, the following terms shall be defined as
follows.

Assistant Secretary—the assistant secretary of the
Office of the State Museum.

Board—the Board of Directors of the Louisiana State
Museum.

DCRT or Department—the Department of Culture,
Recreation and Tourism.

Demonstration Collection—objects are considered to be
expendable and may be used by staff and patrons in the
interpretive programs of the OSM.

Louisiana State Museum—a statewide complex of
facilities under the management and supervision of the office
of the state museum, an agency in the Department of
Culture, Recreation and Tourism.

Museum—a single building that is open to the general
public within the Louisiana State Museum.

OSM or Agency—Office of the State Museum.

Permanent Collection—objects relate directly to the
mission of OSM and support its primary goals. These
objects are subject to the highest levels of documentation
and care.

Study Collection—objects supplement the permanent
collection and are maintained in order to support the
research and educational functions of the OSM. Included is
material that is duplicative or of lesser quality, significance,
interest or use than the permanent collection.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
25:341 et seq., and R.S. 36:204(A)(3).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Culture, Recreation, and Tourism, Office of the State Museum, LR
43:1520 (August 2017).

§103. Hours of Operation

[Formerly §101]

A. Each museum will be open to the public in
accordance with a published schedule established by the

agency.

B. The agency is authorized to close museums or
sections of museums as necessary.

C. As designated by the agency, there are buildings and
sections of buildings under the jurisdiction of the agency that
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are not open to the general public due to the nature of the
building or the nature of the use (e.g., security, collections
management and storage, residential use, utilities, office,
commercial tenants, etc.).

D. The agency is authorized to open museums on official
state holidays provided that affected employees are
compensated in accordance with applicable laws and Civil
Service rules.

E. Due to staffing and other operational concerns, the
agency may turn away a group that has not reserved its visit
in advance.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
25:342-348.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Culture, Recreation, and Tourism, Office of the State Museum, LR
11:684 (July 1985), amended LR 43:1520 (August 2017).

§105.

A. Minimum Admission Fees

Admission Fees

Student
(7-17),
Senior |6 Years
(62+1), | of Age
Active and
Building Location | Standard| Military | Under
Cabildo with Arsenal New Orleans 36 $5 Free
Presbytere New Orleans $6 $5 Free
Old U.S. Mint New Orleans $6 $5 Free
Capitol Park Muscum Baton Rouge $6 $5 Free
1850 House New Orleans $3 $2 Free
Madame John's Legacy New Orleans $3 52 Free
Wedell-Williams Aviation
and Cypress Sawmill
Museum Patterson $3 $2 Free
Louisiana Sports Hall of
Fame and Northwest
Louisiana History Museum | Natchitoches $3 $2 Free
E.D. White Historic House | Thibodaux Free Free Free

B. Minimum admission fees do not include applicable
taxes, processing fees, and charges for special exhibitions,
programs, guided tours, and events.

C. Discounts and Promotional Rates

1. Groups. A 20 percent discount is available for
groups of 15 or more visitors who are old enough to require
an admission fee and who purchase the admission or arrange
the visit with agency in advance.

2. Student Groups. Student groups are admitted to
museums free of charge, if:

a. the student group has reserved its visit at least 48
hours in advance of its arrival;
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b. the student group is affiliated with a recognized
public or private school system or recognized home school
organization; and

c. the student group includes at least 1 chaperone
per every 10 students as a minimum. Chaperones will be
admitted free, up to 1 per every 5 students. Additional
chaperones may be required to pay the admission fee.

3. Annual Pass

a. An annual pass, which entitles the bearer to
admission to all museums that are open to the public, is $40
per year.

b. The annual pass is valid for one year from the
date of issuance.

¢. The annual pass is not transferable.
4. Special Promotions

a. The OSM may, through the assistant secretary,
enter into an agreement or promotion that discounts or
waives admission fees on a defined basis for the purpose of
promoting visitation, public support and mission-related
activities of the department.

b. A special promotion may include, but is not
limited to:

i. free admission for museum  support

organizations;

ii.  promotional coupons such as buy-one-get-one
free;

iii.  discounts for recurring group visits;

iv.  free admission with other museum activity
attendance;

v.  promotional free days in conjunction with
special events, anniversaries, festivals and the like.

c. A special promotion must promote the mission of
the OSM or an affiliated entity and must not conflict with
any applicable law or regulation.

d. Special promotions will be tracked and evaluated
for achievement of the intended purpose. Special promotions
will be reviewed and reauthorized annually.

5. Combination Admission. The OSM may agree to
participate in programs that entitle a visitor to discounted
admission to multiple museums or other attractions,
including those that are not a part of the Louisiana State
Museum.

D. All fees provided in this section may be adjusted to
provide a single, tax and fee-inclusive price for the visitor.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
25:341 et seq., and R.S. 36:204(A)(3).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Office of the State Museum, LR
12:89 (February 1986), amended LR 13:82 (February 1987), LR
20:784 (July 1994), LR 24:2235 (December 1998), LR 30:1057
(May 2005), LR 43:1520 (August 2017).
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§107. Building Use Policy for Events

[Formerly §103]

A. The Louisiana State Museum is an historical, cultural,
and educational institution whose primary purpose shall be
to collect, preserve, and present, as an educational resource,
objects of art, documents, artifacts, and the like that reflect
the history, art, and culture of Louisiana.

B. Use of the Louisiana State Museum facilities for
functions and events may be permitted only insofar as such
use does mnot compromise or put at risk the mission,
accreditation, or integrity of the Louisiana State Museum
and its collections and such use comports with applicable
law and the regulations set forth herein.

C. Certain buildings and spaces within buildings in the
Louisiana State Museum may be designated as being
unavailable for functions and events.

D. The agency is authorized to determine whether the
proposed use, user, and museum or space within a museum
meet the eligibility criteria for the agency’s building rental
policy for events and whether the request complies with the
procedures and requirements set forth in this chapter and
applicable laws.

E. Procedure

1. Eligible Users. Requests for the use of a Louisiana
State Museum building or space thereof for an event or
function will be considered from:

a. nonprofit organizations with purposes similar to
the educational and historical museum purposes of the
agency;

b. governmental agencies for governmental

purposes or events;

c. groups, persons, or companies whose proposed
use is, in the opinion of the assistant secretary, not in conflict
with the purposes of the agency.

2. Eligible Use. Requests will be considered from
eligible organizations, agencies, groups, persons, and
companies only for use that does not compromise or put at
risk the mission, accreditation, or integrity of the Louisiana
State Museum and its collections. Such use generally falls
into one of two types of events or functions:

a. receptions and sit-down meals, which must occur
when the museum is closed to the public; or

b. business meetings and lectures, which may occur
when the museum is open to the public.

3. Capacity. Requests shall state the reasonably
anticipated attendance at the event, which attendance shall
not exceed the maximum building capacity of the museum
as established by the fire marshal.

4. All requests must be submitted in writing (at least
30 days prior to the date of the event is preferred) to allow
for proper planning, coordination, and completion of all
required paperwork, including but not limited to the required
written event agreement.
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5. The agency may deny an application if:
a. the applicant does not meet the eligibility criteria;

b. the applicant has requested to use a museum or
space within a museum that is unavailable for use as a venue
for an event or function;

c. the proposed use exceeds the capacity of the
museum or space within the museum;

d. the proposed use may put the museum, its
collections, or accreditation at risk;

e. the agency does not have sufficient staff or
resources to support the proposed use;

f.  the application is incomplete or is not submitted
timely;

g. the proposed use will interfere with the
exhibitions or other programs or activities of the museum;

h. the event agreement is not executed timely; or

i. the applicant fails to remit the deposit or other
amounts when due and payable, fails to present certificates
of insurance if required, or otherwise fails to comply with
the terms of the event agreement.

F. Terms of Use—Event Agreement

1. The terms of use for the event will be established
fully in a written agreement between the agency and the host
or a legally authorized representative of the host. The event
agreement should be completed and executed by both parties
at least 30 days prior to the date of the use.

2. The event agreement is specific to the building and
the approved use. Terms shall include, but are not limited to:

a. the agency will not remove collections or
exhibition items to accommodate the event;

b. smoking and open flames are prohibited;

c. the host is responsible for choosing and making
its own arrangements with caterers and vendors. However,
the agency reserves the right to reject caterers and vendors
that do not comply with the agency's instructions;

d. the host is responsible for its own parking
arrangements staff, contractors, or guests;

e. the host is responsible for arrangements for
tables, chairs, audio-visual and other equipment, which must
be approved in advance by the agency. At some museums,
such equipment may be available at an additional charge;

f. the host shall designate an authorized
representative to be present for the entire duration of the use.
The representative must have decision-making authority to
act on behalf of the host. The representative will be
responsible for all coordination with the agency.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
25:341 et seq., and R.S. 36:204(A)(3).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Office of State Museums, LR
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11:683 (July 1985), amended LR 13:83 (February 1987), LR
16:295 (April 1990), LR 20:783 (July 1994), LR 24:2233
(December 1998), LR 31:1055 (May 2005), LR 43:1521 (August
2017).

§109. Building Use Agreement and Charges for Events

[Formerly §103]

A. Event Rental Fees and Costs. The written event
agreement will designate the authorized museum space and
time for the approved use and shall specify applicable costs
and fees. The event fees include:

1. a base service charge, which is established based on
the agency's cost of standard security, custodial, utilities, and
administrative support required to service previous functions
of a similar size and type;

2. a donation, which is a gift to a designated fund in
the Louisiana Museum Foundation or another OSM-
designated nonprofit organization whose primary purpose is
to support the mission of the OSM, which fund is designated
for OSM use for endowment, education, exhibits,
acquisition, publications, conservation and building function
support purposes;

3. additional charges based on the nature of the
requested use and/or additional requirements as agreed upon.
Such additional charges will be included in the written event
agreement and may relate to fees and/or required donations;

4. additional charges for use that requires the closing
of any portion of the museum prior to its normal closing
time in the amount of $250 per hour plus applicable fees and
donation for the period closed during public hours;

5. additional charges imposed if, after the completion
of the event, actual use exceeded the authorized use; e.g., the
actual number of persons in attendance exceeded the
planned number or the time and space used were greater
than planned,

6. additional charges imposed if, after the completion
of the event, there are any repairs necessary to the museum
building, grounds, collections, property, or exhibitions that
are the result of the use;

7. additional charges will be in addition to all other
charges and fees and will be payable by the host to the OSM
immediately upon notification.

B. A deposit of not less than 50 percent of the total
indicated in the written agreement will be paid by the host to
the OSM at least 30 days prior to the date of the use. The
balance and any additional charges required will be payable
upon billing by the OSM, at the time of or following the use.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
25:341 et seq., and R.S. 36:204(A)(3).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Office of the State Museums, LR
11:683 (July 1985), amended LR 13:83 (February 1987), LR
16:295 (April 1990), LR 20:783 (July 1994), LR 24:2233
(December 1998), LR 31:1055 (May 2005), LR 43:1522 (August
2017).
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§111. Building Use Fee Schedule for Events

[Formerly §103]
A. Base Service Charge Fees—All Buildings
1. Business meetings and lectures

a. In New Orleans and Baton Rouge, maximum 200
persons.

Guests First Hour Each Additional Hour
1-100 $500 $150
101-200 $750 $200

b. In Natchitoches, Patterson and Thibodaux,

maximum 200 persons.

Guests First Hour Each Additional Hour
1-100 $200 $100
101-200 $250 $150

c. An additional cleaning and repair fee of $200
during public hours and $300 during non-public hours will
be charged for costs involved in preparation and post-
function requirements.

2. Receptions and Similar Functions. Minimum
requirement will be one hour plus set-up and cleaning.

a. In New Orleans and Baton Rouge

Guests First Hour Each Additional Hour
1-200 $700 $200

201-300 $800 $250

301-500 $900 $300
501+ $1,000 $350

b. In Natchitoches, Patterson and Thibodaux

Guests First Hour Each Additional Hour
1-200 $200 $150

201-300 $250 $200
301+ $300 $250

¢. An additional cleaning repair fee of $300 will be
charged for costs involved in preparation and post-function
responsibilities.

3. Sit-Down Meals. Seated meals with wait staff will
be charged an additional $200 per hour.

a. An additional cleaning repair fee of $500 will be
charged for costs involved in preparation and post-function
requirements.

b. All sit-down dinners must be catered to include
waiters serving dinners to each table. The ratio of waiters to
diners must be at least 1 to 10.

B. The agency may only waive the base service charge
fees for use by the agency, department, or use by an entity
that is cooperating with the agency on an endeavor that
fulfills a public purpose that comports with the agency’s

purposes.

C. Donation. Donations will be in accordance with the
following schedule.
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Location Building Rate (per hr.)
Baton Rouge Museum $1,000
New Orleans Cabildo $1,000
New Orleans Presbytere $1,000
New Orleans 0Old U.S. Mint $1,000
New Orleans Arsenal $500
New Orleans Mme. John's Legacy $500
Patterson Museum $200
Natchitoches Museum $350
Thibodaux Historical Site with Grounds $200

NOTE: Time will be rounded to the next quarter hour for
determination of donation requirements.

D. The agency may only waive all or part of the donation
portion when he determines that to do so would be in the
best interest of the OSM.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
25:341 et seq., and R.S. 36:204(A)(3).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Office of the State Museums, LR
11:683 (July 1985), amended LR 13:83 (February 1987), LR
16:295 (April 1990), LR 20:783 (July 1994), LR 24:2233
(December 1998), LR 31:1055 (May 2005), LR 43:1522 (August
2017).

Chapter 3. Accessions, Deaccessions
and Loan Policy

§301. Accessions Procedures

A. The board of directors of the Louisiana State
Museum, acting under R.S. 36:201 is responsible for the
acquisition, deaccessioning and loans of materials that are
part of the museum collections.

1. The Louisiana State Museum maintains an
accessions collection and an education collection.
a. Accessions collection will be only those

collections related directly to the museum's stated purpose,
subject to the concerns and protection of collections care
regulated by policy and law. Materials placed in the
accessions collection become part of the permanent
collection.

b. Education collections supplement the primary
collections goal of the museum, support the research and
educational functions of the museum but do not become part
of the permanent collection.

2. Donors must be apprised in which category the
artifact is to be classified and the terms and conditions of
that category before transfer of title.

3. Proffered objects will be examined and evaluated as
to condition, pertinency and/or duplication to the collection
and the ability to provide proper storage and conservation of
the object. Outside expert opinion may be secured as
necessary. The museum professional staff will make a
recommendation to the museum director who will make a
recommendation to the accessions committee. The
recommendation may be to reject the object, determine it
appropriate for the education collection, or recommend that
the object be accepted into the accessions collection.
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4. The accessions committee meets on an established
schedule. The committee receives recommendations,
examines and evaluates objects and makes recommendations
to the board of directors of the Louisiana State Museum.

5. The board of directors receives the committee
recommendations and determines acceptance or rejection of
the object.

6. If approved by the board of directors, the donor is
issued a permanent receipt and the object is accessioned into
the accessions collection. If not approved, the object is
returned to the owner.

7. All donations to the Louisiana State Museum are
considered outright, unconditional gifts to the people of
Louisiana, unless otherwise determined by the board of
directors at the time of accessioning.

8. The Louisiana State Museum staff will not appraise
donations.

B. This rule will void any prior rule on the museum's
accessions procedure.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
9:2341-2347.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Office of State Museum, LR
11:684 (July 1985), amended LR 17:874 (September 1991).

§303.

A. The Louisiana State Museum must be able to protect
and improve the quality of its collections through the
exchange, transfer or disposal of artifacts. Deaccessioning is
the process of permanently removing accessioned artifacts
from the museum collections.

Deaccession of Museum Collection Items

B. Artifacts in the museum's collections will be
deaccessioned only if they have lost their physical integrity,
usefulness, authenticity, or relationship to the museum's
purposes.

C. Museum artifacts are state property and will be
disposed of in compliance with appropriate state regulations
and established museum collections policy.

D. No object may be deaccessioned less than two years
after its acquisition by the museum.

E. Procedure

1. Proposals to deaccession collection materials shall
be made by the museum professional staff to the museum
director who will make a recommendation to the accessions
committee.

2. The accessions committee receives
recommendations, evaluates the proposal and makes a
recommendation to the board of directors of the Louisiana
State Museum.

3. The board of directors shall accept or reject the
recommendation of the accessions committee. Acceptance of
the recommendation to deaccession will require a majority
vote of those board members voting.
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F. Deaccessioned objects shall be disposed of by one or
more of the following methods, in accordance with all state
and federal regulations:

1. exchanging, exclusively with non-profit
institutions, for objects of equal or greater monetary or
historical value;

2. transfer to a non-profit institution or state agency;

3. the sale of objects only through competitive means
where the museum's identity may or may not remain
anomnymous;

4. destruction of deaccessioned objects which are of a
hazardous nature or in a state of deterioration beyond
redemption;

5. transferral of the object to the museum's

educational collection.

G. Deaccessioned objects shall not be non-competitively
transferred by any means to Louisiana State Museum
employees, volunteers, members of the museum board,
members of a museum support organization or other
affiliated associations, their families or representatives.

H. However, anyone may participate in an approved
public sale which complies with established museum
collections policy and current museum ethics as published
by the American Association of Museums.

I. This rule will void any prior rule on deaccession of
museum collections items.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
25:345 and R.S. 9:2341-2347.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Office of State Museum, LR
11:684 (July 1985), amended LR 12:89 (February 1986), LR
17:875 (September 1991).

§305.

A. The Louisiana State Museum transacts both outgoing
and incoming loans.

Loan Policy

1. Outgoing Loans. The Louisiana State Museum
Board will lend objects from the collections of the Louisiana
State Museum to public and private organizations. Such
loans must be for specified public purposes and for a
specified period not to exceed three years, which may be
renewed by the board. All loan requests will be submitted
through the museum director to the accessions committee of
the board of directors of the Louisiana State Museum which
will review the condition of the objects requested, the
exhibition and research needs of the Louisiana State
Museum, the purposes for which the objects are being
requested, the professional standards and capabilities of the
borrowing organization, and the ability of the borrowing
organization to properly care for the objects requested. All
requests for loans must be made in writing and signed by the
legal authority responsible for the organization making the
request. The board reserves the right to decline loans when,
in its judgment, the loan would not be in the best interest of
the objects requested, or the museum. All loans must be
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insured by the borrower at a value established by the
museum and a certificate of insurance provided to the
museum prior to transfer.

a. Care and Preservation. The borrower must
demonstrate understanding of appropriate environment,
exhibition and security standards for the requested loan
object. The loan objects shall not be cleaned, repaired,
retouched or altered in any way without written permission
from the Louisiana State Museum. The Louisiana State
Museum must be notified immediately if the loan object is
damaged or stolen. Museum artifacts on loan may not be lent
to a third party or moved to another location without
authorization from the museum. The completed loan
agreement must be signed by the borrower or his
representative. If the borrower removes the loan object from
exhibit prior to the expiration of the loan period, the object
will be immediately returned to the Louisiana State
Museum.

b. Transportation and Packing. Items to be loaned
shall be prepared for transport as determined appropriate by
the museum registrar. The object(s) shall be returned to the
museum in the same manner unless otherwise stipulated
upon by both parties.

c. Expenses. All expenses incurred in connection
with a loan will be borne by the borrower unless otherwise
agreed upon by both parties.

d. Publicity and Photography. Permission for the
reproduction (including photo reproduction) of the borrowed
works for any purpose must be obtained from the museum.
Each borrowed artifact must be credited to the Louisiana
State Museum according to the credit line as provided. The
borrower will give the museum two copies of any catalogue
or publication associated with the exhibition or educational
program.

e. Loans to State Officials. The Louisiana State
Museum Board will consider requests for loans of materials
from the state museum collection to the governor's offices in
the State Capitol, the governor's mansion, and other official
offices of the governor. The Louisiana State Museum Board
will also consider loans to the official offices of the
following public officials: statewide elected officials;
President of the Senate; Speaker of the House; Secretary of
the Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism; Chief
Justice of the Supreme Court of Louisiana. All such loans
must meet the following criteria.

i.  Requests for loans must be made in writing to
the director specifying the materials requested. All requests
must be signed by the elected or appointed official for whose
office the request is made.

ii.  The museum board will consider only requests
for loans to be placed in public offices which are located in
public buildings.

iii.  Loans will be made of only those materials that
are not on exhibition or that are not utilized for research or
scheduled exhibitions.
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iv.  Loans will be made of only those materials that
are in sound physical condition.

v.  All loans must meet the requirements specified
in the museum's regular loan agreement policy and will be
for a period of one year. Such loans may be renewed for
12-month periods, but not to exceed the term of office of the
elected or appointed official.

vi. In determining a loan request, the state
museum board will consider the safety and conservation of
the requested objects and may deny a request for reasons of
security or conservation.

vii.  All loan materials will be considered available
for recall by the Louisiana State Museum for purposes of
exhibition, conservation, and research.

viii.  The Louisiana State Museum will inspect loan
materials annually and may, at its discretion, recall a loan
item or replace a loan item with another item from the
museum's collection.

ix.  All loans except those to the governor's offices
and mansion must be insured by the borrower at a value
established by the Louisiana State Museum Board. The
museum must be presented with a Certificate of Insurance
before physical transfer is made to the borrower.

x.  The status of all loans made under this policy
will be reported to the Louisiana State Museum Board
annually.

xi.  All expenses for framing, matting, or other
incidental expenses related to loans, except for those loans to
the governor's offices and to the governor's mansion, will be
the responsibility of the borrowing elected or appointed
official.

xii.  All preparation, framing, matting, packaging
and handling will be under the exclusive supervision and
control of the Louisiana State Museum. Materials are
released to the borrowing elected or appointed official upon
satisfactory completion of loan forms and receipt by the
Louisiana State Museum of a Certificate of Insurance for
loan materials (except for those materials in the governor's
offices and the governor's mansion), at values established by
the Louisiana State Museum.

2. Incoming Loans

a. The Louisiana State Museum Board may borrow
material for exhibition and other special purposes such as
research or public presentation for a specified period of time
not to exceed three years, subject to renewal.

b. The museum board will make a determination of
loans on an individual basis and may apply conditions to the
loan.

c. The following requirements will apply to all
loans to the Louisiana State Museum.

i.  Care and Handling

(a). Objects loaned to the museum will receive
the same degree of care given to objects owned by the
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museum. (If possible, objects will be photographed upon
receipt.) The condition of the loan objects will be established
in writing prior to the loan. Evidence of damage to objects at
the time of receipt or while in the museum's custody will be
reported immediately to the lender. No alteration, restoration
or repair to objects will be undertaken without the written
authorization of the lender. The Louisiana State Museum
will not be responsible for natural deterioration or damage
accrued by Acts of God for items on loan. The loan
agreement will be signed by both parties.

(b). Costs of transportation and packing will be
borne by the museum unless otherwise stated. The method of
shipment must be agreed upon by both parties.

ii.  Insurance. The museum will insure the loaned
items under its blanket fine arts policy subject to the
standard exclusions for a fair and reasonable amount
specified on the face of the loan agreement while in transit
and on location during the period of the loan. The lender
agrees that, in the event of loss or damage, recovery shall be
limited to such amount as may be paid by the insurer,
thereby releasing the museum from liability for all claims
arising out of such loss or damage.

iii.  Publicity and Photography. The museum will
comply with the lender's policy regarding the photographing
and copying of objects on loan. Publicity and exhibition
labels will credit lenders according to the agreement.

iv.  Return of Loans

(a). Unless renewed, loans will be returned to the
lender within 30 days of the expiration of the loan period.
The museum will not be responsible for the conservation or
restoration of loan materials unless in agreement with the
lender.

(b). Failure by the lender to withdraw or retrieve
a loan at the agreed time will require the museum to initiate
procedures regarding abandoned property as specified in
R.S. 25:345 (C).

(i). Any property which has been deposited
with the Louisiana State Museum, by loan or otherwise, and
which has been held by the museum for more than 10 years,
and to which no person has made claim, shall be deemed to
be abandoned and, notwithstanding the provisions of
Chapter 1 or Title XII of Book III of the Louisiana Civil
Code, shall become the property of the museum, provided
that the museum has complied with the following provisions.

(ii). At least once a week for two consecutive
weeks, the state museum shall publish in at least one
newspaper of general circulation in the parish in which the
particular museum facility is located a notice and listing of
the property. The notice shall contain:

[a]. the name and last known address, if
any, of the known owner or depositor of the property;

[b]. a description of the property; and

[c]. a statement that if proof of claim is
not presented by the owner to the museum and if the owner's
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right to receive such property is not established to the
satisfaction of the museum within 65 days from the date of
the second published notice, the property will be deemed to
be abandoned and shall become the property of the state
museun.

(iii). If no valid claim has been made to the
property within 65 days from the date of the second
published notice, title to the property shall vest in the state
museum free from all claims of the owner and all persons
claiming through or under him.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
36:201.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Office of State Museum, LR
11:518 (May 1985), amended LR 17:875 (September 1991).

Chapter 5.Small Museum Matching
Grant Program in the State Museum

§501.

A. A small museum matching grant program was
established within the Louisiana State Museum by Section
15 of Act 19, the General Appropriations Act of 1998,
Regular Session.

Policy for Administration of the Program

B. This program is limited annually to only those funds
appropriated by the legislature within the state museum
budget which are specifically included for this grant
program and are so designated for that purpose.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
25:342.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Office of State Museum, LR

25:236 (February 1999).
§503. Eligibility Requirements

A. Small museums throughout the state of Louisiana
may apply for a grant based on a one-to-one match in
accordance with the guidelines below.

1. Eligibility is restricted to museums with
documented total annual operating budgets of less than
$100,000 from all sources of income.

2. Eligible museums must be open to the public a
minimum of 20 hours per week, have a permanent staff
operating the museum, and have collections and/or offer
exhibitions that pertain to Louisiana culture, heritage and
history.

3. Grants will be limited to not more than $40,000 per
museum per year.

4. Each recipient must match the grant from the state
on a one-fo-one basis, although documented and measurable
in-kind services may be substituted for cash.

5.  Such grants may not be used for operating support
but are limited to care of collections, educational programs,
or exhibits.

6. No museum may be eligible for an additional grant

until all reporting/accounting and other requirements for a
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previous state grant have been successfully completed and
submitted.

7. Only one grant per parish may be awarded annually
through this program.

8. State-operated museums are not eligible for this
program.
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
25:342.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Office of State Museum, LR
25:236 (February 1999).

§505.
A. The program year will be the state's fiscal year for the

purposes of appropriations by the legislature for the
program.

General Guidelines

B. Small museums receiving grants will have one year
from the date of the award to complete their program and
submit a final report.

C. Grant recipients must comply with all state laws, rules
and requirements for expenditure of state-provided funds.

D. The initial application will fully describe the program,
its objectives, performance indicators to measure the success
of the program, and a complete breakdown of the funds
required, how they are to be used, and the one-to-one match
in cash or in-kind services. The application must show how
the program relates to care of collections, educational
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programs, and/or exhibitions, and explain the benefits to the
people of Louisiana.

E. Each grant recipient will submit quarterly reports
which outline their compliance with the program as
submitted and to applicable state laws, rules and
requirements regarding accountability of state funds.

F.  Each program must be completed within one year of
the date of the grant award. A final report will be submitted
to the Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism,
Office of Management and Finance, citing program success
as measured against the initial performance indicator
projections. A copy of all reports must be provided to the
state museum.

G Museums failing to comply with these grant
guidelines will be ineligible for additional grants.

H. The State Museum Statewide Curator will visit with
and assist each grant recipient during their grant cycle.

I. The Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism,
Office of Management and Finance shall have oversight
responsibility to ensure fiscal reliability and that all
guidelines and state requirements are met.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
25:342.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Office of State Museum, LR
25:237 (February 1999).



